Spring Styling Tips: A How To

stylingtipshowto

Now that Alicia and I have finished our Spring Styling Tips Series, we thought it’d be fun to each pick one of each others styling tips and recreate the look. I love recreating looks using pieces from my closet, so I had a lot of run with this one. Of course everything isn’t going to be exactly the same, but that’s the whole point! Showing that YOU can easily recreate our looks too! 

The look I chose to recreate was Alicia’s Spring Layers look. Here’s her look….

Spring Layering

And here’s how I recreated it….

1. Start With a Cool “Bottom Layer”

Springs Layers

For the bottom layer, Alicia suggested going with something cool enough for the warmest temps of the day. She suggested something like the mark. Easy Does It Romper, shorts, tank, ect. Since I don’t have the romper in my closet, I chose a pair of navy boyfriend roll up shorts to keep the colors similar. Then since I was wearing separate pieces, rather than the one piece romper, I decided to go with a navy and white polka dot top rather than a solid navy top for visual interest.

 

2. It’s All About The Fabric

Spring Layers 10

For this step, Alicia suggested layering lightweight fabrics over the bottom layer so they don’t look bulky and out of season. Lucky for me, I actually have the exact same blazer as Alicia! That’s because it’s a mark blazer from a few years back. The blazer is definitely light weight and the perfect color for Spring.

Spring Layers5

 

3. Layer More Than One Layer

Spring Layers 4

Next Alicia suggested layering more than one layer because it not only gives your look more dimension, but it’s also functional. It gives you one more layer in the cool early morning and allows you to remove layers as the day warms up. I actually ended up wearing this look the rest of the day after doing the shoot just cuz I loved the look so much! It was a cooler day so I removed the blazer and just wore the look with the chambray button up.

Spring Layers 8

 

4. Spring Neutrals Layer Nicely

Spring Layers 3

Alicia recommended that if you’re going with multiple layers, to keep them in the same color family. She said by keeping a like color scheme, it will keep you looking put together rather than hodge podge. She said you could add a print, but keep it in the same color family. I did this by adding the polka dot print top. As I said early, the top is navy and white, so I’m keeping things in the same color family with it. As Alicia also said, leopard is also a neutral. I added a leopard flat to the look like she did. I love how they add a lil visual interest to the look without looking crazyish.

Spring Layers 6

 

5. Layer Your Spring Accessories

Spring Layers 7

Now is the time Alicia says to bust out the Spring Accessories! Things like straw hats, beachy bracelets and shimmering spring accessories. Since the Twice as Nice Necklace Set, Cube Affects Necklace and bracelet Alicia is wearing in her look are by mark, I happen to have the same ones in my jewelry collection, so I decided to add the same pieces for my look. Then I also added the mark Tool Around Ring Set and a watch cuz I ALWAYS have to wear a watch! Then I added my straw fedora hat to top things off like Alicia did.

Spring Layers 9

Polka Dot Top – Poshmark / Fedora | Chambray Button Up – DownEast / Boyfriend Roll Up Short –  Old Navy / Leopard Flats – Shoe Carnival /  Necklaces | Watch | Bracelet | Rings | Blazer – mark

 

Alicia’s How To

Alicia also chose to recreate my Spring Layers look using the mark Luck of the Drawstring Anorak and mark Four Seasons Scarf. The jacket and scarf are perfect for the cooler mornings. Then they can easily be removed once the temperatures rise!

Styling Tips 2

I LOVE how the jacket and scarf style beautifully together along with her neutral bottom layer. The deep purples in the top really make the purples in the scarf just pop!

Styling Tips

See more pics and read how Alicia recreated my look over on her blog, Word of Alicia.

 

 

 

One thought on “Spring Styling Tips: A How To

  1. Pingback: Mint n Stripes | My Sweet Obsessions

Leave a comment