Men’s Wear Inspired

It’s pretty obvious that these pics were taken a few weeks ago. We now have snow on the ground. They have been sitting there in picture file (plus a couple more outfit pics) waiting for me to have a chance to write a post. Well, today is kinda a lazy, post-Christmas kind of day. I’ve pretty much just been spending my whole day reading which is VERY unusual for me. It’s really been kinda nice though, to not worry about my to do a list for a change and just enjoy the day. Not that I don’t have other things I could be doing, I’m just choosing not to today and I’m kinda loving it for a minute. We’ll get back to reality on another day…

The structured pieces inspired by men’s wear are always fun to mix into an outfit. The straight lines make a look appear pulled together and polished

mad-about-plaid-brogues

The structure of this jacket, mixed with a loose-fitting tee makes for the perfect combo of casual and dressy. I knotted the tee at the bottom to add a touch of shape to the hem line and keep it from looking frumpy. I added just a touch of edge to the look with a long pendant necklace and several stacked bracelets.

neutral-jacket

To keep the outfit on the feminine side, I paired it with denim jeggings rather than wearing the jacket with loose-fitting pants or jeans. These show off feminine curves and help balance out the loose-fitting jacket and tee.

mad-about-plaid-brogues-1

The Mad For Plaid Brogues by mark are another way to add a touch of Men’s Wear to your look, but still have a feminine feel to them. Plaid is HUGE this time of year, so the touch of plaid is perfect. The brown, leather-like body of the shoe will go with pretty much anything. They would even look super cute with a form-fitting pencil skirt. I love that they are easy take on and off thanks to the Velcro panel underneath the buckle flaps.

mad-about-plaid-brogues-3

Altogether, this just a fun look on the more dressy side, with just a touch of casual and edginess.

mad-about-plaid-brogues-2

shoes, jacket, necklace – mark | t-shirt, jeggings, watch – Jane | bracelet – Alloy

Leave a comment