Mixing Prints

Mixing prints is a fun way to add visual interest to a look. Today I’m mixing stripes (top) with houndstooth (scarf). The trick to keep them looking chic rather than crazyish is to not have the prints compete against each other. Either keep them both smaller prints like I did, or have one print be the larger focal print and keep the other print smaller. If the prints are colored, you’ll want to make sure the colors “go” together. Check out my post on Complimentary Colors for tips on mixing prints.

To finish off my look, I added a military jacket and combat boots. By-the-way, military is going to be a HUGE trend this spring. I chose the military jacket because I like how the army green compliments the orange stripes in the top. I chose the combat boots just because I hadn’t worn them for a while and figured I’d give them the chance to see the light of day. For some extra visual interest, I layered the scarf with a long pendant necklace by mark.

Stripes n Houndstooth 4

Stripes n Houndstooth 2

Stripes n Houndstooth 3

Stripes n Houndstooth 5

Stripes n Houndstooth

Top – Old Navy / Scarf – Bella Me Boutique / Jeans – Alloy / Boots – Ross / NecklaceΒ | Watch | Bracelet | Rings – mark

 

 

Leave a Reply

