Bargain Shopping

Okay ladies, today I wanna share with you my new way of bargain shopping! Some of you may have already discovered this, but I’m still pretty new it. So you ready for what it is? Shopping Resale!

Up to a few months ago, my thought was Eeew gross, when it came to buying resale pieces. So first let me give you a little bit of background on how I even got started on the resale bargain shopping.

Last fall, my mother-in-law was holding a yard sale and told me if there was anything I was wanting to sell, bring it over. Well, I’d had a HUGE bag of clothes just sitting in my closet I just couldn’t bring myself to donate. They were in great condition, I just no longer wore them and the pile just continued to grow. I decided, what the heck, I’ll give trying to sell them a shot! Turned out I made about $35 that day and still had lots more to sell. So next I decided I’d try selling the rest on a local Facebook Classifieds group. I ended up selling the rest of them pretty quickly and easily and thought “WOW, why have I never done this before”?

After my younger sister heard about the all the clothes I had sold to “strangers”, she was upset at me. She told me “why didn’t you tell me”? I would have bought some of them! So with the help from a friend who had her own Facebook group boutique called JJ’s Simple and Chic Boutiqie, I created my own Facebook Boutique that I call Jill’s Urban Closet Boutique. That way I could easily share what I have for sale with my friends and family and whoever else wants to join my group.

I had been following a page on Facebook called Poshmark, but just thought it was page about fashion. Well, that was until I saw one of their posts one day about selling some of your gently used items from your closet on Poshmark. I just had to try it out! I added all my pieces and started sharing my listings and building followers. I’ve now sold AND bought several things. I was hesitant to buy at first, but then thought, if everyone else is doing it and if they’re in as good of condition as I sell, why not! Plus, I wanted to see how the process works anyway. Poshmark is now my FAVE new place to find a great bargain!

P.S. You can shop my Poshmark Closet here.

When you sell an item on Poshmark, you can either have that money deposited in your account (haven’t done that yet), or you can use it towards purchasing items from someone else (have done that several times).

So I wanna share with you some of my great finds, I thought it would be more fun to style the pieces for you than to just share pics of them. The first piece I purchased from Poshmark was my floral button up for just $9. I love chambray and I liked that it went with this season’s floral trend. Plus, I LOVE polka dots!!!

Floral Button Up

Top – Poshmark  (seller – @pnm0ua), Watch – mark, Pants – Old Navy, Sandals – Payless

 

Next I found me some cute little leopard flats for $11. I’ve been on the hunt for some cute leopard flats cuz the neutral colors go with pretty much everything. I like how they go perfectly with my striped skirt and mustard sweater.

Leopard Flats

Leopard Flats – Poshmark  (Seller – @ninaa1122), Top – Bella Me Boutique, Skirt, Watch – mark, Chain Bracelet – DownEast, Turqoise and Mint Bracelets – Beyond Beauty

 

I had also been on the hunt for some cute cognac flats and ended up scoring these Steve Madden flats for just $20! They seem pretty much brand new! I LOVE how they go with ANYTHING! I know what my new go to flats will be!

Cognac Flats

Flats – Poshmark (Seller – @heejeong), Watch, Necklace – mark, Dress – DownEast, Belt – Piperlime, Cardigan – Bella Me Boutique

 

You can also find brand new items on Poshmark at a GREAT price!

Like these J. Crew Shorts I found for just $16! Retail price for them is $46! A savings of $30!!! WHOOHOO!!! I like the fun coral color of these shorts and that they can be dressed up or down. I’m looking forward to styling them all summer long! For this outfit, I paired them with my Geometric Pattern Wedge from Avon.

Coral Shorts

Shorts – Poshmark (Seller – @rebeccabeach), Chambray Button Up – DownEast, Watch, Necklace, Belt – mark, Wedges – Avon

 

I also scored this brand new cute little owl dress for just $24! Unfortunately, when it came it was just a lil shorter than I was hoping. I added a chocolate brown slip extender from a local boutique called Tory’s Trends and now I’m good to go!

Owl Dress

Dress – Poshmark (Seller – @valorieann), Cardigan – Walmart  (Bella Bird Line), Belt – Piperlime, Watch, Necklace – mark, Slip Extender – Tory’s Trends, Sandals – Payless

 

Another place you can shop resale is ThredUp. ThredUp is an online consignment store where people send their gently used items to them and then they will pay the sender a determined amount (determined by ThredUp). Everything sold on ThredUp is sold and shipped by them. I haven’t sent anything to ThredUp yet, but I heard they don’t pay out a whole lot. From what I could tell (they list paid out prices on their site), they average paying you around $2-$3 per top (more for name brand pieces). If you’re wanting to make some quick cash without having to wait for a buyer like on Poshmark, I think this is the way to go. I plan on eventually sending them some of my pieces I have listed at Poshmark if they don’t sell after several months.

At ThredUp I found this adorable mint top for just $9. I like it for my more dressy days. Plus mint is just a HUGE color this season!

Mint Top

Mint Top – ThredUp, Cardigan – Walmart  (Bella Bird Line), Pants, Watch, Bracelet, Necklace – mark, Flats – DownEast (In Store Only)

 

A couple other Resale Sites you can check out are Vinted and Threadflip. I couldn’t tell ya much about them though.

 

2 thoughts on “Bargain Shopping

  1. Wow you found some great finds! I recently have found a great consignment store here locally that I’ve scored great finds at and made some $$. Great ideas for clothes I was about to donate that were a little more conservative for the local consignment store!

Leave a Reply

